In accordance with the new Midway University Online Course standards every course offered must have specific resources and documentation in the Are You Ready? section of the course. These resources will help accreditation as well as provide your students with guidance for successfully completing and engaging in the online educational environment.
Displayed below is an image of how your Are You Ready? section should appear. We ask that you create the Pages, Forums, and upload the PDF documents to match the image below. In the following Tabs you will be able to access the material for each of these sections. The material can be either downloaded or your can copy and paste from this site into your Moodle Pages and Forums.
In order to add the required START here! page you need to add a new Resource in Moodle. You can learn more about adding a new Moodle Resource by clicking on the "Resources" tab on the navigation bar located on the left side of your screen. We ask that you make START here! a Page.
When creating this page please ensure that you copy and past the following in to the Description:
This page contains essential information you need to succeed in the online environment. Please make sure you review all of this information to ensure that you are prepared for the course.
Next, copy and paste the following into the Page content area:
Here is a screenshot of what your START here! Page should look like when creating or updating it:
Scroll down until you see Activity completion. In the Completion tracking field click the drop down and select Show activity as complete when conditions are met. Then click the box next to Require view and a check should appear like the one below. Finally, click Save and return to course. You have completed the START here! Moodle Page.
Please update your Netiquette file. You can do this by downloading the file from below and saving it to your desktop. Then go to Moodle and add a Resource in the Are You Ready? section. From the Resource list add a File. You will be directed to a page that looks like the one below.
In the Name field type "Netiquette". In the Content field click the blue arrow and then click Browse. Navigate to the file saved on your desktop and click Upload this file.
Scroll down until you see Activity completion. In the Completion tracking field click the drop down and select Show activity as complete when conditions are met. Then click the box next to Require view and a check should appear like the one below. Finally, click Save and return to course. You have completed the Netiquette update.
It is important that your students have basic introductory information about you and the course. The Introduction to Professor and Course Page is a prime spot to accomplish this important task.
We have created a template for you to copy and paste into an already existing Introduction to Professor and Course Page or into the Content area of the new course Page you are creating. If the page is already in existence you will find it under the Are You Ready? section in your course. If the page needs to be created you can read about creating a new Moodle Resource under the Resources table located on the navigation bar on the left side of your screen.
In order to update the Introduction to Professor and Course page copy and paste the text below in to the Page Content section so that the Edit page looks like this:
Remember to update all the information (i.e., Dates, Instructor, Names, etc.) only if you are in the course being taught NOT in the Master Course.
Finally, scroll to the bottom and click Save amd return to course to ensure the changes are made to the page.
Course: Insert Course Number and Section
Credit Hours: Number of Credit Hours
Course Start Date: Date
Course End Date: Date
Location: Location
Professor & Contact Information
Your Name
Your preferred contact method – Email or Phone
Your textbook information
Course
The Student & Academic Resources Page is a new addition to Midway's University online courses. It is now a required component for all online courses. It will aid students in finding a resources, help, and support.
In order to add this page to your course you will need to add a new Resource to your Are You Ready? section. You will find directions for adding a new resource on the Resources page of this website. Once you add a new Page copy and paste the following into Name:
Student & Academic Resources
Next, scroll down the page until you see Page content located under Content. Copy and paste the content below into the Page content field:
Midway University Student Moodle Help - This website provides access to various Moodle Tutorials.
Midway University Technical Support - Technical information such as computer support and how to get help with Moodle can be found here
Midway Online Course Support - If you need technical assistance outside of normal business hours then you can contact Online Course Support through Aelearn by clicking this link
Little Memorial Library - the link to the main library page
Library Databases - Find full-text articles and ebooks for your library research. Use your Midway University username/password when prompted.
Database Tutorials and User Guides - Video tutorials and user guides to help you use the library databases for research.
Purdue OWL: Online Writing Lab The Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University houses writing resources and instructional material, and we provide these as a free service of the Writing Lab at Purdue. Students, members of the community, and users worldwide will find information to assist with many writing projects.
Academic Help: Write Better This site has an "Ask an Expert" section, guides on how to write any essay, paper, or report, and tons of examples of what you are writing.
Textbooks can be purchased from the campus or any online bookseller. Please be sure to have the correct ISBN number for the required textbooks before ordering online. Information about purchasing other required readings such as course packets will be available from your instructor. Online bookstores by campus can be found by following http://www.midway.edu/admissions-aid/cost-aid/student-account/bookstore/
Disability Support Services - The Assistant Vice President for Student Affairs coordinates Midway University’s disability support services. This link provides information on how to obtain assistance
Student Development Center
Academic Support - The Student Development Center assists students with academic needs such as tutoring, lab resources, testing assistance and much more.
Career Services – The Student Development Center provides career services such as resume review, writing assistance and information on job searches.
It is VERY important that you copy and paste the text above. Without copying and pasting you will lost the embedded code that allows it to appear properly on Moodle.
Forums are a required component of all online courses. In the Are You Ready? section you must have the News Forum accompanied by the required description. The News Forum should be used to communicate general news and announcements to your students. The Raise Your Hand! forum is not required in the Are You Ready? section, but can be placed here if you want to have a general forum where students can ask questions. The Raise Your Hand! forum is essentially a discussion forum that can be placed in each Week or Topic. If you do not have weekly discussions you can place the Raise Your Hand! forum in the Are You Ready? section.
In order to create this News Forum you must add a Forum or edit the existing News Forum in your course. In order to add a new Forum visit the Activities tab on the left side of the screen and following the directions there. To edit the existing News Forum go to your course and turn on editing. Then go the Are You Ready? section and find the News Forum and click Edit. After you click edit you will be directed to the page below.
Next, you will need to copy and paste the following text in to the Description field (i.e., display in the image above:
You will find general news and announcements regarding our course here. Be sure to check frequently in order to stay up-to-date throughout the course.
Finally, scroll to the bottom and click Save and return to course. You have finished updating the News Forum.
The Raise Your Hand! forum is essentially a weekly or general class discussion forum. In order to meet the Midway Online Course Standards you must have at least one discussion forum in your course shell. For example, you can have discussion forums where students can converse about large assignments, weekly course material, or generally about the course. You can create a new forum by adding an activity to your Moodle course shell. You can find detailed instructions on the Activities page of this guide.
In accordance with Midway Online Course Standards, each Week or Topic must be accompanied with a Topic description, dates, objectives, and tasks. The image below depicts what each Week/Topic must look like in order to meet the Midway Standards.
In order to update the Week/Topic Heading you mush click the gear below the heading (
). Once you click this gear you will be directed to the page depicted below.
Next, you will need to delete (Insert topic description) and insert the week/topic main concepts or theme. After updating the topic copy and paste the information below into the Summary field:
Start Date - End Date (ex. August 12 - August 19)
Your tasks are:
You can ask any questions you might have about the week's materials or activities in the "Raise your hand!" forum.
More than likely the Master course editors will need to update (1) the assigned readings; (2) the weeks online assignment; and (3) the regularly assigned works. It is also important that you update the last sentence in the Summary to match the name and forum you want students to direct questions too. As Master course editors you can leave the date in the format shown above. The dates will only need to be changed by course facilitators.
It is VERY important that you copy and paste the text above. Without copying and pasting you will lost the embedded code that allows it to appear properly on Moodle.
RESEARCH HELP
LIBRARY SERVICES
INSTRUCTION SUPPORT
CONTACT
