This is the "Databases A-Z" page of the "Databases" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Databases  

Last Updated: Feb 9, 2012 URL: http://midway.libguides.com/databases Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Databases A-Z Print Page
  Search: 
 

A-E

  • ABI/Inform Dateline
    Includes hard-to-find local and regional business publications with news about local companies, analysis, information on local markets, and more.
  • Academic Search Premier
    Academic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary scholarly, full text database designed for academic institutions. The database contains indexing for 8,176 publications, with full text for nearly 4,700 of those titles.
  • Access World News
    The electronic editions of record for valuable local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers as well as full-text content of key international sources -- all in one easy-to-search database with a world map.
  • Agricola
    Contains bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library. No full-text articles.
  • Alt-Press Watch
    Alt-Press Watch is a full text database comprised of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the alternative and independent press. Alternative newsweeklies, available in most cities, give readers alternative perspectives on politics, government, policy and culture; report on issues of government and education, local, national and international issues. A great source for current event topics for class assignments and discussions.
  • America's Newspapers from NewsBank
    Contains full-text articles from local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers, including Lexington-Herald Leader, Louisville Courier-Journal, New York Times, Washington Post and many more.
  • APHA Pharmacy Library
    PharmacyLibrary features content from APhA's authoritative textbooks, an interactive NAPLEX review, case studies, article abstracts from the Journal of the American Pharmacists Association and a variety of news sources.
  • Business Searching Interface
    Company profiles, industry profiles, country reports, market research reports, and SWOT analyses.
  • Business Source Premier
    The industry's most popular business research database.
  • Career and Technical Education
    The definitive source for vocational information, including more than 650 titles available in full text.
  • CINAHL Plus with Full Text
    CINAHL Plus® with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 770 journals indexed in CINAHL®.
  • Credo Reference
    A full-text online reference service that includes entries from hundreds of well-regarded titles from some of world's the best reference publishers.
  • eBook Collection
    EBSCO's eBook collection of over 117,000 full-text academic titles.
  • EBSCO A-to-Z
    An A-to-Z list of all the electronic and print journal titles to which the college subscribes.
  • EBSCOhost
    This link connects directly to the EBSCOhost suite of databases to which the Midway College Library subscribes. Use this link to search multiple databases.
  • ERIC
    The Education Resource Information Center provides access to education literature and resources. This direct link to ERIC does not require a username and password.
  • ERIC (EBSCOhost)
    The Education Resource Information Center provides access to education literature and resources.

F-L

  • Facts & Comparisons
    A primary source for drug information.
  • Films on Demand
    A web-based digital video delivery service that allows the streaming of videos from Films Media Group. Subjects include business, health, and sciences.
  • GreenFILE
    Well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment and what can be done to minimize these effects.
  • Health Source Consumer
    A collection of consumer health information.
  • Health Source Nursing/Academic
    Collection of nursing, allied health and medical resources. Also includes the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide.
  • International Pharmaceutical Abstracts
    IPA is the primary source for drug information. It provides worldwide coverage of pharmacology, pharmacy and health related literature from 1970 to the present, and is updated monthly.
  • Kentucky Virtual Library
    The Kentucky Virtual Library (KYVL) provides all Kentuckians with a comprehensive and dynamic collection of information resources.
  • Lexicomp Online
    Point-of-care drug resource containing information about interactions, Drug ID module, toxicology, herbal medicine, calculations, and patient care.
  • LexisNexis
    Provides access to government, news, business and legal information.
  • Library, Information Science & Technology
    Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more.
  • Literary Reference Center
    A comprehensive database that provides users with a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes.

M-N

  • Magill's Medical Guide
    Online access to the medical guide.
  • MAS Ultra
    Designed specifically for high school libraries and contains journals, pamphlets, reference sources, and an image collection.
  • Master File
    A multidisciplinary database that provides full text of reference publications and an image collection. It is designed for public libraries.
  • MEDLINE
    Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine.
  • MICROMEDEX
    Provides evidence-based drug information and clinical answers. Access only with user name and password provided by clinical instructor.
  • Middle Search Plus
    Designed specifically for high school libraries and contains journals, pamphlets, reference sources, and an image collection.
  • Military & Government Collection
    Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government.
  • Natural Standard
    Natural Standard was founded by healthcare providers and researchers to provide high-quality, evidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies.
  • Newspaper Source
    Provides selected full text for international, national and regional newspapers. Also includes television and radio news transcripts.

O-Z

  • Primary Search
    Provides full text magazines for elementary school research.
  • Professional Development Collection
    Provides a highly specialized collection of electronic information especially for professional educators, professional librarians and education researchers.
  • ProQuest Career and Technical Education
  • PsycARTICLES
    PsycARTICLES, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology.
  • Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
    Full-text database that covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
  • PsycINFO
    The American Psychological Association's (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations.
  • Regional Business News
    Provides full text coverage for regional business publications such as business journals, newspapers, and newswires.
  • Religion and Philosophy Collection
    A comprehensive database covering topics such as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.
  • ScienceDirect
    The world's leading source for scientific, technical, and medical full text research. Full-text articles will be emailed to you by a Midway College librarian.
  • Security Management Practice
    A dozen new reports every month covering topics like deploying network security appliances, using biometric technologies for network and physical security, managing organizational risk, planning for disruptions, securing the enterprise network and so much more.
  • Small Business Reference Center
    A comprehensive resource for small business owners and those interested in starting a business, offering full-text periodicals and reports, sample business plans, U.S. tax forms, videos and reference books.
  • Sociological Collection
    Provides coverage in all areas of sociology with 500 full text journals, most of which are peer reviewed.
  • Teacher Reference Center
    Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 270 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.
  • TOPIC Search
    Find current events topics for your papers, presentations, and class discussion.
  • WorldCat
    Catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide.
  


 

About databases

These are the electronic databases available to Midway College students, faculty, and staff.  Resources accessible through these databases include full-text articles, full-text books, and films.

Enter your Midway College network username and password when prompted.

Note:  Not all databases are full-text.

 

Printable Quick Guide

  


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip