Little Memorial Library: Finance Research Guide: Data and Statistics

Data and Statistics

Amazon Web Services
Large public data sets in the terabyte range.
The Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD)

OECD.Stat includes data and metadata for 35 OECD countries and selected non-member economies.
Small Business Administration Open Datasets
Global Entrepreneurship Monitor

GEM provides yearly datasets (offset by the most recent 3 years) on many aspects of business startup activities.
The Kauffman Index Entrepreneurship Series
The Kauffman Index of Entrepreneurship series offers in-depth measures of the people and businesses that contribute to America’s overall economic dynamism. The series consists of reports and accompanying interactive data visualizations presenting entrepreneurial trends nationally, at the state level, and for the 40 largest metropolitan areas.
State of Startups
The study involves more than 700 founders weighing in on topics such as leadership, recruitment, revenues, culture, fundraising, investments, and exits. The company has been conducting the study every year since 2015.
QPB Time Series Spreadsheets
Provides comprehensive aggregate data for all FDIC-insured companies including loans to small businesses and small farms.
City of Chicago Data Portal
Economic Data Series in R
From the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis, a set of economics time series data.
Fraser
The Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research (FRASER) started in 2004 as a data preservation and accessibility project of the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis. FRASER can be used in conjunction with other Federal Reserve resources, including FRED, ALFRED, the Federal Reserve System Historical Gateway, and curriculum developed by economic education staff.
London Data Store
Published by the Greater London Authority, the Data Store over 600 data sets related to life in London. Winner of the 2015 Open Data Institute Publisher Award.
LTPP InfoPave
LTPP (Long Term Pavement Performance) is a database of highway pavement test data hosted by the Federal Highway Administration. LTPP InfoPave™ enables users to tap easily into the wealth of pavement performance data and knowledge available from the LTPP program.
TranStats - Bureau of Transportation Statistics
Transportation statistics from the BTS includes data on transportation by mode (e.g. airline) and subject (e.g. safety). Be sure to check the database directory for a list of the available data sets.
Gapminder Demographic

Information available in Excel with accompanying visual datagraphic.

Data.gov-US Government Data Portal
Finding Data on the Internet - Inside R
Provides a list of over one hundred links that lead to usable datasets from areas such as finance, economics, social sciences and universities most of which are free.
IPUMS (Integrated Public Use Microdata Series)
IPUMS iprovides integrated public microdata series for the US Census (IPUMS-USA), international censuses (IPUMS-International) and the Current Population Survey (IPUMS-CPS). All data is available for free download from the host site at the Minnesota Population Center.
Recommended Data Repositories
From Scientific Data - an open access journal from the Nature Publishing Group - a list of recommended data repositories.
Registry of Research Data Repositories
re3data.org is a global registry of research data repositories that covers research data repositories from different academic disciplines. It presents repositories for the permanent storage and access of data sets to researchers, funding bodies, publishers and scholarly institutions. re3data.org promotes a culture of sharing, increased access and better visibility of research data.
Stanford Large Network Dataset Collection
Datasets from the Stanford Network Analysis Project.
UCI Machine Learning Repository
The Machine Learning Repository at UC Irvine includes business data sets for bank marketing and credit defaults.

Librarian

Michael Garner

Email Me

Contact:

512 E. Stephens St.
Midway, KY 40437

Subjects: Biology, Bourbon Studies, Business Administration, Chemistry, Computer Science, DIY Research Skills, Education, English Language, Environmental Science, Equine Studies, Finance, Health Care Administration, Language and Literature, Marketing Communications, Music, Nursing, Psychology, Science, Sport Management