This award-winning text guides nursing graduate students in developing the key skills they need to fulfill emerging leadership roles as our health care system experiences profound change and increasing complexity. The book provides a wealth of critical information, practical tools, creative vision, and inspiration that will help to facilitate leadership at the highest level of clinical practice. This second edition is expanded and updated to incorporate leadership challenges resulting from health care reform, changes in the current vision of health care, and innovations that foster leadership development.
Johns Hopkins Nursing Evidence Based Practice: Models and Guidelines provides practical guidelines on the model with exemplars, a question development tool, evidence rating scale, project management, appraisal forms, and evidence summary documents, this book helps nurses not only understand the theory, but also put it into action. The new edition includes expanded and improved tools and forms including additional guidelines for individual appraisals, and both research and non-research-based evidence. It is both a textbook for students and a handbook for nurses in practice.
Designated a Doody's Core Title! This is a pithy, pocket-sized resource for students and practicing nurses alike that delivers the foundations of evidence-based practice (EBP) and basic nursing research concepts in an easy-to-read, quick-access format. It demystifies the research process with straightforward information presented in concise sentences and bullet points. The book focuses on providing readers with the most practical information on EBP--including how to get the best evidence quickly using various databases and includes coverage of both quantitative and qualitative methods. At-a-glance charts categorize research and simple examples demonstrate concepts. The second edition has been updated to reflect rapidly changing trends and stateof-the-art information in EBP, including such new research methods as narrative inquiry and storytelling. Using proven, class-tested content for both traditional and online courses, this updated edition includes guidance on how EBP is used to obtain and retain Magnet status, and presents examples of how health care providers are integrating EBP into their practice.
Difficult decisions are part of everyday life for any manager, and the decisions that arise in the healthcare environment are far too important to be made based on poor information and gut feeling. An evidencebased approach to management ensures that healthcare leaders ask the right questions, use the best evidence available, and make better decisions in carrying out their mission.
What Nurses Know...PTSD Covers all the treatments available today. Examines the causes of the PTSD, describes the symptoms and the effects of PTSD on individuals with the condition and their families Looks at associated problems such as substance abuse Explains what makes PTSD different in children and adolescents Shows how to manage stress Shows how to talk to your health care provider Show how to get help - from both traditional and nontraditional sources About the Series Nurses hold a critical role in modern health care that goes beyond their day-to-day duties.
American Journal of Nursing, 2001 Book of the Year Award in Psychiatric & Mental Health Nursing Building upon generic concepts and skills of caring and helping, this book provides a foundation for addiction practice by health and social services professionals. Chapters emphasize the knowledge considered essential in every area, and each chapter identifies the skills required and suggests topics for further study.
Written by front line professionals in the fields of nursing, mental health, prison services and the law, this text is an essential companion to the government's new suicide prevention strategy. The contributors offer a wealth of practical guidance on issues such as risk assessment and management in a range of settings, policy and the legal framework around suicide.
This Handbook provides a clear introduction to the theoretical debates surrounding the topic of domestic violence, and also offers practical advice on possible interventions. Focusing on improving the care of clients it covers: the causes and consequences of domestic violence personal and professional issues for the practitioner domestic violence and the law the process of effective intervention interventions in specific health care settings interventions where children are involved multi-agency approaches education and training. Taking an evidence-based approach to practical problems, Domestic Violence is an invaluable resource for nurses, doctors and other health practitioners who deal with the consequences of domestic violence in their daily work.
Learn to detect elder abuseand provide the help that your neglected or abused elderly clients need! Even to clinicians experienced in managing difficult client situations, elder abuse is perplexing, complex, and ethically charged. This kind of abuse can be hard to detect, with its subtle manifestations and indicators that could just as easily reflect other problems or illnesses. It can seem impossible to control, particularly when the victim refuses help or denies the seriousness of mistreatment. Moreover, decision-making when dealing with interventions for elder abuse is rarely easy and is frequently clouded by ethical dilemmas. The Clinical Management of Elder Abuse can help. This essential guide for present and future clinicians provides you with multidisciplinary perspectives on detecting elder abuse situations and interventions that can make a real difference in the lives of clients.
Tina M. Marrelli's new book, Home Care Nursing: Surviving in an Ever-Changing Care Environment is a practical and comprehensive guidebook written concisely and without jargon or insider acronyms, making the book accessible to anyone whose work is connected to home care nursing services. Designed to provide chapters as stand-alone resources for readers with previous experience seeking updated guidance, Home Care Nursing is also an excellent guide for course or orientation material. Each chapter is packed with practical questions, discussion topics, and additional resources, such as a complete Medicare Benefit Policy for reference. Additionally, offering more than just an overview of the healthcare and home care markets, this book discusses the unique practice setting and environment of home care nursing, the laws regulations, and quality, and how to make the leap into the field, document your home visit, and improve your professional growth and development.
This Handbook provides a complete compendium of methods for evaluation of IT-based systems and solutions within healthcare. Emphasis is entirely on assessment of the IT-system within its organizational environment. The author provides a coherent and complete assessment of methods addressing interactions with and effects of technology at the organizational, psychological, and social levels.It offers an explanation of the terminology and theoretical foundations underlying the methodological analysis presented here. The author carefully guides the reader through the process of identifying relevant methods corresponding to specific information needs and conditions for carrying out the evaluation study.
Historically, informatics was considered as a technology for automating clinical decision making and processes. This book views informatics as a transforming technology, one that alters the structure of clinical processes and broader health organizations. It explores the use of health information technology from a systems perspective. The traditional three-pronged informatics model—cellular, clinical, and population—is expanded to include dynamic systems, which adds to and alters previous conceptions.
Although the data in healthcare comes from and relates to patients, it has generally been the clinician and not the patient who has been seen as the end-user of health information or health information technology. This seems set to change though, as the evolution of new online tools and mobile applications has led to the growth of a grass-roots effort from patients to change their role and involvement in their own health management. This book presents papers from the Information Technology and Communications in Health conference, ITCH 2015, held in Victoria, Canada, in February 2015. The theme of this conference is patient-centered care, and not only were contributors asked to consider the role and voice of the patient, but patients themselves were invited to contribute papers describing their experiences in healthcare and their use of their own data. The papers included here reflect not only informatics innovations in the field, but also explore how to involve patients in the design process, implementation and long-term use of health information systems, and will be of interest to researchers, health practitioners and patients alike.
RESEARCH HELP
LIBRARY SERVICES
INSTRUCTION SUPPORT
CONTACT
