Open Textbook Library (Univ of MN)
The Open Textbook Library is a collection of over 300 freely available electronic textbooks licensed under one of six Creative Commons licenses. Some books include faculty peer reviews. All can be read online or are downloadable for offline reading.
Open Stax College (Rice University)
A growing collection of professional quality, peer-reviewed, openly licensed, editable intro-level textbooks. All textbooks are licensed with a Creative Commons Attribution license (CC BY) and are freely available in PDF, HTML, ePub, and customizable via Connexions (cnx.org). iBook versions are $4.99. Hardcover print versions range from $30-50 depending on the size of the book. Most OpenStax books include ancillary material. Many have companion online homework systems available at a discounted rate.
The link above goes to their informational website. To search for textbooks, click here: https://www.oercommons.org/hubs/OpenStax
MERLOT
MERLOT contains links to freely available online textbooks from a variety of sources. MERLOT II is a project of the California State University System.
- Search instructions: (Filter "material type" by "open textbook").
OER Commons
OER Commons indexes a wide variety of openly licensed educational materials. Licenses vary by item. Search instructions: (Under "material type" select "textbook" or for a curated collection go to: https://www.oercommons.org/hubs/open-textbooks )
British Columbia Campus Open Campus Textbook List
Openly licensed textbooks created by BCCampus, a consortium of post-secondary educational institutions in British Columbia.
OpenSUNY Textbooks
A growing collection of openly licensed textbooks in a wide variety of topics.
Each of the books in the Saylor Academy bookshelf is freely available for download, online reading, and sharing under one of various open licenses.
Directory of Open Access Books
Openly accessible (and many openly licensed) electronic books. Nearly 2,500 books as of January 2015. Includes search and browse finding features. Many times from international publishers and strong focus on humanities and social sciences.
Connexions
Freely available, open-licensed educational materials in a wide variety of fields (electrical engineering, music, psychology etc.). Rice University.
College Open Textbooks
Openly licensed textbooks for a variety of subjects. The focus is on first two years of college.
Free textbooks (from Open Culture)
The Global Text Project
Publishes open content electronic textbooks that are freely available. They focus on content development and Web distribution, and work with relevant authorities to facilitate dissemination by other means when bandwidth is unavailable or inadequate. The goal is to make textbooks globally available to the many who cannot afford them.
Boundless ($) https://www.boundless.com
Flatworld Knowledge ($) http://catalog.flatworldknowledge.com
Thuze ($) https://www.thuze.com
RESEARCH HELP
LIBRARY SERVICES
INSTRUCTION SUPPORT
CONTACT
